演员和活动家丹尼·格洛弗(Danny Glover)和布莱尔·安德伍德(Blair Underwood)表示赞同,并借用声音支持第21号提案

盖德·肯斯利(Ged Kenslea) 新闻通讯

演员和活动家丹尼·格洛弗(Danny Glover)和布莱尔·安德伍德(Blair Underwood)表示赞同,并借用声音支持第21号提案

XNUMX月的加利福尼亚州投票表决倡议将限制不公平的租金上涨并保留经济适用房

法律将是否制定租金控制措施的决策程序交还地方管辖区,社区和地方民选官员。 它在加利福尼亚州的任何地方都没有要求或要求租金控制,而只是允许当地社区决定最适合他们的

洛杉矶(7年2020月XNUMX日) 是的21岁 运动很自豪地宣布,它已经获得了好莱坞两位著名人物的认可:演员和长期活动家 丹尼·格洛弗 布莱尔·安德伍德(Blair Underwood)。

提案21是XNUMX月在加利福尼亚州进行的一项投票倡议,该倡议将限制不公平的租金上涨并保留经济适用房。 该法律将决定是否允许或颁布租金控制措施的决策程序交还给当地司法管辖区,社区和当地民选官员。 它在加利福尼亚州的任何地方都没有要求或要求租金控制,而只是让当地社区决定最适合他们的。

支持21号提案的人也将其视为一种无家可归的预防措施,它将帮助将家庭留在家里。

“我在旧金山长大,回想起辛勤工作的人们何时可以在充满活力的社区买得起体面的房屋。 如今,这些人在他们的社区之外被定价。” 丹尼·格洛弗电视录制点,广播广告和选民外联电话以支持该措施。 “这就是为什么我要你对21日投赞成票。这是一种经济有效的措施,可让城市扩大租金控制范围。 第21号提案将有助于保护我们的社区并使家人留在家中。”

格洛弗(Glover)是著名的演员,制片人和人道主义者,其荣誉可以追溯到几十年前,从去年广受好评的“旧金山的最后一个黑人”(这部电影涉及中产阶级化和《 21号提案》旨在解决的许多问题)到更主流。像“致命武器”系列一样的电影大片,史蒂芬·斯皮尔伯格的“紫色”等电影。 格洛弗还是一位长期不懈的公民权利,劳工,政治和国际活动家。

“作为一名激进主义者,我相信人民做出改变的力量,而这种改变始于投票箱。 今年21月,请与我站在一起,对XNUMX日投赞成票。”

布莱尔·安德伍德(Blair Underwood)是一位备受推崇的电视和电影演员,其一系列荣誉可以追溯到他最杰出的角色之一:美国国家广播公司(NBC)的《洛杉矶法》(1987-1994)的律师乔纳森·罗林斯。 他曾在其他几个后续系列(“活动”,“ Quantico”,“ Ironside”)中担任主角或担任过重要演员,多年来,他在流行电视节目的“名人录”以及众多电影露面。 Underwood是几个慈善组织的一部分,并且是联合创始人 新南非艺术家。 他是Danny Glover非营利组织Robey Theatre Company的受托人,该公司专注于制作有关黑人经验的剧本。

命题21

提案21通过后,将取消当前州法律的限制,赋予市县实施和扩展租金控制政策的权力,这些政策限制了每年可以增加多少租金。 这将使当地社区能够:

  • 将租金控制范围扩大到更多建筑物,同时豁免新建建筑物。
  • 豁免拥有最多两个房屋的单户家庭房屋所有者。
  • 当新的房客搬进来时,允许增加房租的限制。

住房是一项人权(HHR)是AIDS Healthcare Foundation(AHF)以及21号提案的主要赞助商。

提案21由房主和房客联合会赞助,艾滋病医疗保健基金会提供了大量资金。 要了解更多信息,请访问 yeson21ca.orghousinghumanright.org.

###

Actors and Activists Danny Glover and Blair Underwood Endorse and Lend Voices to Prop. 21

Ged Kenslea Press Release

Actors and Activists Danny Glover and Blair Underwood Endorse and Lend Voices to Prop. 21

November California ballot initiative that will limit unfair rent increases and preserve affordable housing

Law returns decision-making process on whether to enact rent control measures to local jurisdictions, communities, and local elected officials.  It does not mandate or require rent control anywhere in California, but simply allows local communities to decide what’s best for them

LOS ANGELES (October 7, 2020) The ‘Yes on 21’ campaign is proud to announce it has received the endorsement of two Hollywood notables: actors and longtime activists Danny Glover and Blair Underwood.

Prop. 21 is a November California ballot initiative that will limit unfair rent increases and preserve affordable housing. The law returns the decision-making process on whether to allow or enact rent control measures to local jurisdictions, communities, and local elected officials.  It does not mandate or require rent control anywhere in California, but simply allows local communities to decide what’s best for them.

Backers of Prop. 21 also view it as a homeless prevention measure that will help keep families in their homes.

“I grew up in San Francisco and remember when hardworking people could afford decent homes in vibrant communities. Today, those same people are being priced out of their neighborhoods,” said Danny Glover in a recorded spot for television, radio ads and voter outreach calls in support of the measure. “That’s why I’m asking you to vote ‘yes’ on 21. It’s a cost-effective measure that allows cities to expand rent control. Prop. 21 will help preserve our communities and keep families in their homes.”

Glover is a renowned actor, producer and humanitarian with credits stretching back decades ranging from last year’s well received “The Last Black Man in San Francisco” (a film dealing with gentrification and many of the issues Prop. 21 seeks to address) to more mainstream blockbuster movie fare like the “Lethal Weapon” franchise and films like Steven Spielberg’s “The Color Purple.” Glover is also a longtime and tireless civil-rights, labor, political and international activist.

“As an activist, I believe in the people’s power to make change and that change starts at the ballot box. This November, please stand with me and vote ‘yes’ on 21,” Glover appealed in the closing of his recorded message.

Blair Underwood is a highly regarded television and film actor with a range of credits dating back before one of his most prominent roles: that of attorney Jonathan Rollins on NBC’s “L.A. Law” (1987-1994). He’s led or been a key member of the cast in several other subsequent series (‘The Event,’ ‘Quantico,’ ‘Ironside’) and had countless guest appearances over the years in a ‘who’s who’ of popular television programs as well as numerous film appearances. Underwood is a part of several charitable organizations and a cofounder of Artists for a New South Africa. He’s a trustee of Danny Glover’s nonprofit Robey Theatre Company, which focuses on producing plays about the Black experience.

Proposition 21

When passed, Proposition 21 will remove current state law restrictions, giving cities and counties the power to implement and expand rent control policies that limit how much rents can increase each year. It would allow local communities to:

  • Expand rent control to more buildings while exempting newly constructed buildings.
  • Exempt Single-Family homeowners who own up to two homes.
  • Allow limits on rent increases when a new renter moves in.

Housing Is A Human Right (HHR) is the housing advocacy division of AIDS Healthcare Foundation (AHF), and the leading sponsor of Proposition 21.

Proposition 21 is sponsored by Homeowners & Tenants United, with significant funding by the AIDS Healthcare Foundation. To learn more, visit yeson21ca.org and housinghumanright.org.

# # #