了解事实

 

了解事实。

为什么加利福尼亚需要21号提案?


按数字

二千二百万

加利福尼亚有17万租房者

1在3

三分之二的CA租房者中有1%或以上用于租金

92

最低工资的员工每周必须工作92个小时才能负担普通的一居室公寓

200%

加拿大的租金上涨是全国平均水平的2倍

2,000
租金上涨5%导致被迫无家可归的洛杉矶居民人数

为什么加利福尼亚需要21号提案?


按数字

17
百万
进入
CALIFORNIA
1在3中
CA租房

50%或更多 他们的租金收入中

92小时
每周工作

最低工资的员工负担得起一居室公寓的平均价格

200%
租金增加

租金是全国平均水平的2倍

2,000
无家可归

洛杉矶居民的房租每增加5%,就会无家可归


住房危机如何变得如此严重?

图片

暴涨的租金与停滞的工资

图片

大房地产

  • 公司房东和大房地产公司长期以来一直优先考虑利润而不是人们。 多年来,房地产行业一直错误地声称解决住房负担能力危机是供需问题。 住房负担能力危机不仅是加利福尼亚的问题。 这是一种全球现象,加剧了 房地产市场投机活动增多 以及缓慢的长期工资增长。 随着越来越多的投资者资金投入房地产市场,租金上涨,人们面临着进一步的住房不安全状况。
  • 公司和华尔街投机者不仅使租户生活困难。 通过与房主和小型房东争夺相同的住房存量,公司房东使人们越来越难以拥有自己的房屋或投资房地产.
图片

房地产投机

  • 房地产投机涉及购买房地产,希望以更高的价格转售房地产,并获得高风险贷款或更高利率。 
  • 投机旨在在短时间内赚取大量利润。 抵押和租赁财产所有权是基于对社区的30年承诺,使用的是标准贷款。 公司业主不关心致力于我们的社区。 他们想利用我们的社区快速赚很多风险钱。

图片

系统种族主义+社区流离失所

  • 通常由于种族主义者的住房习惯而产生的城市社区现在正面临残酷的讽刺。 在有色人种迁入祖先逃离社区的世代之后,白人又回到了有色人种社区,而这是有代价的。
  • 如果没有空置控制,房东可以将空置单位的租金提高到他们想要的最高水平,并威胁或骚扰现有租户,直到他们搬走为止。
  • 绅士化导致我们许多最脆弱社区的住房不安全

图片

政治瘫痪

  • 不幸的事实是,房地产亿万富翁和特殊利益集团 好多钱 给政客买票 -他们反对租金控制的投票,反对房客保护的投票以及反对威胁其利润的任何事情的投票。
  • 这意味着许多获得房地产收益的政客在采取行动方面受到限制。 这就是我们不得不将租金控制直接交给选民的原因。

住房危机如何变得如此严重?

图片

飞涨的租金vs
停滞工资

图片


房地产

图片

房地产
推测

图片

系统种族主义+
社区流离失所

图片

政治
瘫痪


关于提案21,我还需要了解什么?


常问的问题

什么是支柱21?

第21号提案是2020年XNUMX月的州投票倡议,它将限制租金上涨并保留负担得起的住房,以使CA家庭留在家中。 第21号提案将允许当地社区制定或扩展租金控制政策,以限制每年租金上涨的幅度。 它不要求任何城市或县采取租金控制,但给了他们选择的方法。

为什么我们需要21号提案?

加州是全美住房负担能力最差和无家可归者危机的发源地。 三分之一的房客支付租金收入的一半以上。 如果没有租金控制,公司和掠夺性地主将继续掠夺租金,将人们赶出家门,流落街头。 提案21将给数百万的老年人,家庭和在职的加利福尼亚人带来稳定与安心。

我是房主,《 21号提案》将如何影响我?

如果您不是房东或房客,则21号提案对您没有直接影响。 我们的投票办法明确豁免拥有不超过两个单户住宅的房主。 而《 21号提案》将保证房东获得公平的利润.

谁支持21号提案?

第21号提案得到了参议员伯尼·桑德斯(Bernie Sanders)和国会议员马克西·沃特斯(Maxine Waters)等决策者的支持; 传奇活动家Dolores Huerta; 以及诸如加州勇气,我们的革命,洛杉矶城市联盟之类的倡导和基层组织,同时,加州社区权利增强联盟(ACCE)行动,美国民主社会主义者-洛杉矶,行动信念,Inquilinos Unidos,洛杉矶洛杉矶国家律师协会洛杉矶社区法律与行动中心(NLG LA)和 许多.

谁反对21号提案?

加利福尼亚州最强大的房东游说团体“加利福尼亚公寓协会”(California Apartments Association)积极地提出了反对21号提案和保护加利福尼亚租房者的努力。 公开交易的房地产投资信托,例如Essex Property Trust,Equity Residential和Blackstone Group; 华尔街的兴趣; 加州房地产经纪人协会; 和汤姆·班农(CAA),萨姆·泽尔(Equity Residentials),托马斯·科茨(Thomas J. Coates)(杰克逊广场房地产公司),约翰·尤迪(John Eudy)(埃塞克斯房地产信托),巴里·阿尔舒勒(Barry Altshuler)(房地产住宅),杰基·萨菲尔(Jackie Safier)(普罗米修斯房地产集团)等人,拉塞尔·弗林(海湾地区房东),蒂姆·诺顿(阿瓦隆湾社区),汤姆·图米(UDR)和臭名昭著的驱逐房东丹尼斯·布洛克。

这会增加税收吗?

不会。实际上,它可以帮助限制加税。 第21号提案将帮助保留更多人,这意味着您社区中无人居住的人所需的服务更少。 实际上,无家可归给国家带来的代价是极大的: 一个长期无家可归的人每年平均花费纳税人$ 35,578。 这些服务是用您的财产税支付的。 人们需要的服务越少,增加的财产税也就越少。

租金控制如何运作?

提案21允许每年一次合理的租金上涨,这被称为租金稳定。 通过稳定租金,租房者可以更好地了解下一年的租金增长,并调整预算,同时允许房东将钱投入到该部门进行维修,保险和缴税。 

如果我的城市已经有租金管制怎么办?

提案21将不会更改现有的租金控制法律。 但这将使您的社区有权扩展当前的租金控制法律,以保护更多的低收入和工人阶级的租户.

房东不有权获利吗?

提案21保障房东获得公平利润的权利。 这意味着任何采用租金控制的城市或县都不会侵犯房东获得投资回报的权利。

我对15%的事情感到困惑,这是否意味着我的租金每年将上涨15%?

否。空置控制对租户居住在该单元中时收取的租金没有影响。 它指导下一个租户搬进之前可以增加多少公寓成本。新租户的租金将仅基于当年允许的租金增长而增加。 如果以前的租户居住在那里三年以上,则房东可以增加15%来升级该单元。

现在,房客可以在租客搬出后尽可能多地提高任何公寓的租金成本 - 有时会在不对单元投入大量资金的情况下将单元的租金成本提高一倍甚至三倍。 这给我们所有人带来了不可持续的高租金,并鼓励驱逐长期房客,尤其是老年人。 第21号提案将帮助该目标摆脱长期租户的支持.

为什么Prop 21不会直接设定租金上限?

提案21不排除采用全州范围的租金规定。 (实际上,我们鼓励当选官员为保护房客和房主做出更多努力!)它使当地社区有能力根据当地情况,在他们认为合适的情况下,限制租金上涨。 目前,州和地方社区的权力都非常有限。 提案21将改变这一点。

加州还没有通过租金控制吗?

否。《第1482号议会法案》于2020年初生效,仅解决租金上涨幅度最大的问题。虽然第1482号法案是重要的第一步,但租房者需要进一步的保护。 AB 1482将租金的涨幅限制为每年10%,如果您的收入没有每年增加10%,这仍然高得令人难以接受。

事实上, 研究表明, AB 1482仅直接影响该州7%的租金上涨,这意味着绝大多数租房者仍会吸收远远超过生活成本的租金上涨。

实际上,AB 1482仅保护有限数量的租户,并且有效期为十年。 提案21永远不会过期,它将涵盖移动房屋租赁者以及其他类型的住房。 

这项投票措施会阻止我驱逐有问题的房客吗?

否。《 21号提案》不影响房东为其租户提供安全且可居住的单位的能力。 它不会阻止房东提高租金或驱逐有问题的房客。

专家同意-租金控制工程。

最新研究强烈表明,稳定租金的政策可以降低目标租户的租金,并通过提高居住稳定性,保持社区的承受能力以及保护租户免遭驱逐而为社区带来更多利益。

  1. 租金控制提高了租金监管单位的负担能力
  2. 大多数研究发现,在受租金管制的社区附近,租金没有上涨,在某些情况下甚至更低
  3. 在旧金山湾区,房客总共花费了超出其负担能力的4.4亿美元,这些钱本来可以用于其他目的
  1. 租金控制和正当驱逐政策保护了伯克利和圣莫尼卡的社会和经济多样性
  2. 伯克利和圣莫尼卡的数据显示,租金控制继续保护弱势租房者并压低租金价格
  3. 伯克利规划与发展部在1998年的一份综合报告中指出,租金控制并没有对新公寓的建设产生负面影响。 该报告表明,建筑许可达到了自1971年以来的最高水平,1989年是房租管制通过九年之后的事情。
  1. 租金控制直接增加了稳定性和负担能力。 居住在租金控制单位中的租户搬迁的频率降低,被迫搬迁的可能性也较小
  2. 租金受控制单位的租户支付的租金也大大低于非管制单位的租户:洛杉矶每年减少$ 3,240,纽约市每年减少$ 5,460和高成本曼哈顿每年减少$ 18,000
  3. 租金控制是唯一可以立即为面临难以承受的租金上涨压力的租户提供救济的政策工具。 由于租金控制涵盖了绝大多数租房者居住的私人出租房屋,因此在影响范围方面,它的表现优于所有其他负担得起的住房工具。
  4. 租金控制所带来的稳定性过分地使低收入家庭,有色人种,老年人和有孩子的家庭受益,而这些家庭最容易流离失所和被迫搬迁。
  1. 基于对洛杉矶租金和收入的历史研究,该研究建议扩大租金控制和空置控制以保护洛杉矶租户
  2. 在实际收入下降的时候,洛杉矶的租金在增加:2009-11年度的中位数收入实际上比2年低1970%,同期的中位数租金增长了85%(均扣除了通货膨胀因素)。
  3. 租金上涨的影响尤其严重地打击了最低收入者(收入最低的五分之一者)。 该组中有54%的人负担沉重的房租(支付租金收入的一半以上),但到2009-2011年,这一数字已上升到将近78%。
  4. 在过去的几十年中,洛杉矶已经失去了大量的租金控制单位:虽然在1982年,几乎100%的公寓受到租金控制,但今天只有80%属于这一类。 如果将单户房屋租金包括在内,则RSO涵盖的单位份额下降到73%。
  1. 在伯克利市,非控制单位的租金上涨了50%,但其中只有10%的租金通过建筑翻新和增加的税款重新投资于社区
  2. 伯克利市政府的房租委员会2010年的经济研究发现,房租每年的总涨幅略超过100亿美元,超过了进行通货膨胀调整以弥补成本增加和维持盈利能力所必需的涨幅。
  3. 对于伯克利市而言,租金控制政策一直是保护租户的极具成本效益的方法。 该市的房租委员会的年度预算约为4万美元,而通过代金券提供可比的收益每年将花费20万美元。 建造社会住房的新建筑将需要220亿美元的资本投资。
  1. 当住房市场像加利福尼亚州许多地方一样运作不正常时,租户实际上是在以高于完全竞争性市场将允许房东收取的租金来补贴房东。
  2. 租金上涨使许多居民无家可归。 在所有50个州中,加利福尼亚州目前经历无家可归的人数最多,研究表明,租金上涨与无家可归的现象之间存在明显联系。
  3. 稳定的租金将为该州的经济,环境和公共服务带来更广泛的利益,包括改善交通状况和减少与交通有关的温室气体排放,以及增加租户在当地经济中的支出。
  4. 老年人,拉丁美洲人,非洲裔美国人,低薪工人以及有孩子的家庭面临着住房危机带来的最严峻负担。 租金的迅速上涨将居民转移到工作质量较低,学校表现良好和其他资源较少的地区,从而加剧了种族隔离,特别是在远离城市就业中心的郊区。

Get the Facts

 

Get the Facts.

By The Numbers

17 Million

There are 17 million renters in California

1 in 3

1 out of 3 CA renters spend 50% or more of their income on rent

92

A minimum-wage employee would have to work 92 hours every week to afford the average one-bedroom apartment

200%

Rent increases in CA are 2X the national average

2,000
The number of LA residents forced into homelessness with every 5% increase in rent
Image

Skyrocketing Rents vs Stagnant Wages

Image

Big Real Estate

  • Corporate landlords and Big Real Estate have a long history of prioritizing profit over people. For years, the real estate industry has falsely claimed that addressing the housing affordability crisis is a matter of supply and demand. The housing affordability crisis is not only a California issue. It is a global phenomenon exacerbated by increased speculation in the housing market and sluggish, long-term wage growth. And as more investor money is infused in housing markets, rents rise, and people face further housing insecurity.
  • Corporations and Wall Street speculators aren’t just making life difficult for renters. By competing for the same housing stock as homeowners and small landlords, corporate landlords make it increasingly difficult for people to own their own homes or invest in property.
Image

Real Estate Speculation

  • Real estate speculation involves buying property with the hopes of reselling it at a higher price, with a very risky loan or higher interest rate. 
  • Speculation is intended to make a lot of profit in a short amount of time. Mortgages and rental property ownership is based on a 30-year commitment to that community by using a standard loan. Corporate landlords don’t care about committing to our communities; they want to use our neighborhoods to make a lot of risky money very fast.

Image

Systematic Racism + Community Displacement

  • Urban communities, often created as a result of the racists housing practices, are now facing a cruel irony. Generations after their ancestors fled their neighborhoods as people of color moved in, white folks are moving back into those communities of color— and it comes at a price.
  • When there’s no vacancy control, landlords can raise the rents on vacant units as high as they want to— and intimidate or harass current tenants until they move.
  • Gentrification leads to housing insecurity for many of our most vulnerable communities

Image

Political Paralysis

  • The unfortunate truth is that real estate billionaires and special interest groups give so much money to politicians in order to buy their votes — their votes against rent control, their votes against tenant protections, and their votes against anything that threaten their bottom line profits.
  • This means that many politicians who receive real estate dollars are limited in the action they can take. That’s why we’ve had to take rent control to the ballot, directly to voters.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Prop 21?

Prop 21 is a November 2020 state ballot initiative that will limit rent increases and preserve affordable housing to keep CA families in their homes. Prop 21 would allow local communities to enact or expand rent control policies that limit how much rental prices can increase each year. It does not require any city or county to adopt rent control, but it gives them the choice to do so.

Why do we need Prop 21?

California is home to the nation’s worst housing affordability and homelessness crises. One in three renters pays more than half their income in rent. Without rent control, corporate and predatory landlords will continue their rent gouging, pushing people out of their homes and onto the streets. Prop 21 would give millions of seniors, families, and working Californians stability and peace of mind.

I’m a homeowner, how will Prop 21 affect me?

Prop 21 will have no direct effect on you if you are not a landlord or a renter. Our ballot measure explicitly exempts homeowners who own no more than two single-family homes. And Prop 21 will guarantee landlords a fair profit.

Who supports Prop 21?

Prop 21 is supported by policy makers such as Senator Bernie Sanders and Congresswoman Maxine Waters; legendary activist Dolores Huerta; and advocacy and grassroots organizations like Courage California, Our Revolution, the Los Angeles Urban League, In the Meantime, The Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment (ACCE) Action, Democratic Socialists of America - Los Angeles, Faith in Action, Inquilinos Unidos, Los Angeles Center for Community Law & Action,  National Lawyers Guild of Los Angeles (NLG LA), and many more.

Who is against Prop 21?

Prop 21 and efforts to protect California renters have been aggressively targeted and opposed by the California Apartments Association, the state's most powerful landlord lobbying group; publicly-traded real estate investment trusts such as Essex Property Trust, Equity Residential, Blackstone Group; Wall Street interests; the California Association of Realtors; and people like Tom Bannon (CAA), Sam Zell (Equity Residentials), Thomas J. Coates (Jackson Square Properties), John Eudy (Essex Properties Trust), Barry Altshuler (Equity Residential), Jackie Safier (Prometheus Real Estate Group), Russell Flynn (Bay Area Landlord), Tim Naughton (AvalonBay Communities), Tom Toomey (UDR) and notorious eviction landlord Dennis Block.

Will this raise taxes?

No. In fact, it could help limit tax increases. Prop 21 will help keep more people housed, which means fewer services needed for unhoused people in your community. In fact, homelessness is extremely costly for the state: a chronically homeless person costs the taxpayer an average of $35,578 per year. Those services are paid for with your property taxes. The fewer services that people need, the less property taxes will increase.

How does rent control work?

Prop 21 allows for reasonable rent increases once a year, which is called rent stabilization. With rent stabilization, renters  have a better idea of what their rent increases will be for the next year and adjust their budgets for it while allowing a landlord to have money to invest back into the unit for repairs, insurance, and taxes. 

What if my city already has rent control?

Prop 21 won’t change the rent control laws already in place. But it will give your community the right to expand your current rent control laws to protect more low-income and working-class renters.

Don’t landlords have a right to make a profit?

Prop 21 guarantees a landlord’s right to a fair profit. That means that any city or county that adopts rent control will not infringe on a landlord’s right to a return on their investment.

I’m confused about the 15% thing, does that mean my rent will go up 15% every year?

No. Vacancy control has no impact on how much rent is charged while a tenant is living in the unit. It guides how much the cost of an apartment can be increased before the next tenant moves in. The rent for the new tenant will only be increased based on the allowable rent increase for that year. Landlords could add 15% if the previous tenant lived there for more than three years to upgrade the unit.

Right now, landlords can raise the cost of rent on any apartment as much as they like after a tenant moves outsometimes doubling or even tripling the cost of rent on a unit without putting much investment in the unit. This leads to unsustainably high rents for all of us and encourages evictions of longer-term renters, especially seniors. Prop 21 will help take the target off of the backs of long-time renters.

Why doesn’t Prop 21 institute a rent cap directly?

Prop 21 does not preclude the adoption of statewide rent regulations. (In fact, we encourage our elected officials to do more to protect renters and homeowners alike!) It affords local communities the power to set limits on rent increases depending on conditions locally, as they see fit. Right now, both the state and local communities have very limited powers to do so. Prop 21 will change that.

Didn’t California already pass rent control?

No. Assembly Bill 1482 went into effect at the beginning of 2020 to address only the most excessive rent increases, While AB 1482 is a significant first step, renters need further protection. AB 1482 limits rent increases to 10% each year, which is still unacceptably high if your income doesn’t go up 10% each year.

In fact, research shows that AB 1482 only directly impacts 7% of rent increases in the state, meaning the vast majority of renters will still absorb rent increases that far outstrip the cost of living.

In fact, AB 1482 only protects a limited number of tenants, and it expires in ten years. Prop 21 would never expire, and it would cover mobile home renters as well as other types of housing. 

Will this ballot measure prevent me from evicting a problem tenant?

No. Prop 21 doesn’t interfere in a landlord’s ability to provide a safe and habitable unit for their tenants. It does not prevent landlords from raising rents or evicting problem tenants.

Experts agree - rent control works.

The latest research strongly suggests that rent stabilization policies reduce rents for the tenants they target and provide additional benefits to the community by increasing residential stability, preserving affordability in neighborhoods, and protecting tenants from eviction.

  1. Rent control improves affordability in rent-regulated units
  2. Most studies have found that rents did not rise and in some cases were even lowered in areas adjacent to rent-regulated neighborhood
  3. In the San Francisco Bay Area, renters collectively spend $4.4 billion beyond what they can afford on rent, money that could otherwise be used for other things
  1. Rent control and just-cause evictions policies have protected social and economic diversity in Berkeley and Santa Monica
  2. Data from Berkeley and Santa Monica show that rent control continues to protect vulnerable renters and hold down rent prices
  3. A comprehensive 1998 report by Berkeley’s Planning and Development Department noted that rent control did not negatively impact new apartment construction; the report showed that building permits hit their highest levels since 1971 in 1989—nine years after the passage of rent control.
  1. Rent control directly increases stability and affordability. Tenants living in rent-controlled units move less frequently and are less likely to be forced to move
  2. Tenants in rent controlled units also pay substantially less than tenants in non-regulated units: $3,240 less per year in Los Angeles, $5,460 in New York City, and $18,000 in high-cost Manhattan
  3. Rent control is the only policy tool that can immediately provide relief to renters facing unaffordable rent increases. Because rent control covers private rental housing where the vast majority of renters live, it outperforms all other affordable housing tools in terms of scale of impact.
  4. The stability created by rent control disproportionately benefits low-income households, people of color, seniors, and families with children, who are most at risk of displacement and forced moves.
  1. Based off a historical study of rent and income in Los Angeles, this study recommends expanding rent control and vacancy control to protect Los Angeles tenants
  2. Rents in Los Angeles are increasing at a time when real income is falling: the 2009-11 median income was actually 2% lower than it was in 1970, median rents over that same period increased 85% (both figures adjusted for inflation).
  3. The impact of rising rents hits the lowest earners (those in the bottom quintile) especially hard. 54% of this group was severely rent-burdened (paying more than half of their income for rent), but by 2009-2011 that figure had risen to nearly 78%.
  4. Los Angeles has lost a significant number of rent controlled units over the last few decades: while in 1982 almost 100% of apartments were rent controlled, today only about 80% fall within that category. When single-family home rentals are included, the share of units covered by RSO drops to 73%.
  1. In the City of Berkeley, rents have risen 50% in non-controlled units and yet only 10% of that increased rent is being reinvested in the community through building renovations and increased tax payments
  2. The City of Berkeley’s Rent Board’s 2010 economic study found that overall rents had increased by slightly more than $100 million annually, over and above the increases necessary to provide an inflation adjustment to cover increased costs and maintain profitability.
  3. For the City of Berkeley, rent control policies have been an incredibly cost effective way to protect renters; the city’s rent board has an annual budget of approximately $4 million whereas providing comparable benefits through vouchers would cost $20 million annually.  New construction to build social housing would require a capital investment of $220 million.
  1. When the housing market is as dysfunctional as it is in many parts of California, tenants are effectively subsidizing landlords with rent payments above what a fully competitive market would allow landlords to charge.
  2. Rising rents have pushed many residents into homelessness. California now has the largest number of people experiencing homelessness among all 50 states, and research shows a clear link between rising rents and increased homelessness.
  3. Stabilizing rents would have broader benefits to the state’s economy, environment, and public services—from improved traffic conditions and reduced traffic-related greenhouse gas emissions, to increased spending by tenants in their local economy.
  4. Seniors, Latinos, African Americans, low-wage workers, and families with children face the most severe burdens from the housing crisis. Rapidly increasing rents are displacing residents to areas with fewer quality jobs, well-performing schools, and other resources—reproducing racial segregation, particularly in suburban areas far from urban jobs centers.