是21关于CA住房负担能力危机提案21

顶级专家称租金限制将稳定加州的住房负担能力危机

帕特里克·麦当劳 最新资讯

近年来,  南加州大学,加州大学洛杉矶分校和加州大学伯克利分校开展了重要的研究,发现同样的问题:合理地限制不公平的,高昂的租金上涨是帮助稳定加利福尼亚州毁灭性的住房承受能力危机的关键工具。 房地产行业和No on Prop 21运动不希望加利福尼亚人知道这些发现。

在他们的报告中,领先的住房,城市规划和经济专家研究了实施租金限制的迫切需求和价值。 独立分析发现,对房东提高租金的合理限制将使数百万正在努力支付超额租金和维持生计的加利福尼亚人获得紧急救济。

这种救济将与 提案21通过.

21月的投票提案《 XNUMX号提案》限制了租金的过度上涨,并为中产阶级和工人阶级的房客提供了帮助。 这就是为什么 第21号提案获得了值得信赖的公民领袖和组织的支持例如劳工和民权偶像Dolores Huerta,前联合国住房权特别报告员Leilani Farha,加利福尼亚州SEIU,社会保障局等。

In 南加州大学 租金事项 报告尊敬的教授兼合著者曼努埃尔·帕斯托尔(Manuel Pastor)写道:“住房危机需要一系列战略,而且适度的租金监管是嵌套在更广泛战略中的有用工具。 它的破坏作用比通常想象的要少,它可以解决经济上的痛苦,并可以促进住房的稳定。 住房稳定很重要,因为它与身体,社会和心理健康息息相关; 年轻人的高等教育成就; 和有色人种的好处。”

USC的研究发现,租金限制不会增加非管制单位的租金,不会影响新住房的建设,并有助于使所有人的租金负担得起。

由 加州大学伯克利分校的哈斯学院也发现了租金限制 对于稳定加州的住房负担能力危机至关重要。 伯克利市前住房主管,该简报的合著者斯蒂芬·巴顿博士说:“当住房市场像加利福尼亚州许多地方一样运转不良时,租户实际上是在向房东提供高于租金的补贴。完全竞争的市场将使房东有何收费?”

热带地区的 加州大学洛杉矶分校的拉斯金中心还研究了租金控制的历史 在洛杉矶,您将深入探讨这座城市当前的住房负担能力危机与空前的无家可归者之间的联系。 该报告借鉴历史,将当今的住房负担能力危机与1970年代的租金上涨进行了比较,并指出人们“有一些依靠的东西-工作技能,少量储蓄或投资”。

如今,工资跟不上租金上涨的步伐,最受打击的是那些没有安全网且常常流落街头的低收入房客。 结果,报告指出:“这是紧急情况,威胁到我们经济和社区的稳定。 正如本文所表明的那样,过去政府毫不犹豫地使用其权力来解决住房紧急情况。”

加州大学洛杉矶分校的报告得出结论,加利福尼亚州必须“采取行动,确保所有收入水平的出租房屋的可用性和可承受性……并[允许]地方政府重新确定自己的租金水平。” 这包括利用租金限制。

另外, 加州大学伯克利分校的城市流离失所项目指出,租金大幅上涨 继续对海湾地区居民构成迁离和流离失所的严重威胁。

与索赔相反 房地产行业和21岁以下运动,专家们发现,租金限制将帮助数以百万计的人(包括老年人,家庭,应届大学毕业生,教师等)带来所需的救济。

不断增加的租金是不可持续的,因为加利福尼亚的中产阶级和工人阶级已经负担了房租,其中许多人仅靠住房成本就支付了每月收入的一半以上。 尤其如此,因为 租户在COVID-19大流行造成的金融危机中挣扎.

遏制不公平,过高的租金上涨将提振当地经济,减少因长期通勤而造成的交通拥堵,减少汽车排放,为老年人和家庭提供稳定的住房,最终使我们 在所有人都能成长的地方更可行的社区.

本文的作者帕特里克·兰奇·麦克唐纳(Patrick Range McDonald)是屡获殊荣的记者兼倡导记者。 住房是一项人权.

Yes on 21 CA housing affordability crisis Proposition 21

Rent Limits Will Stabilize California’s Housing Affordability Crisis, Say Top Experts

Patrick Range McDonald News

In recent years, top experts at  USC, UCLA, and UC Berkeley  have rolled out important studies that found the same thing:  putting sensible limits on unfair, sky-high rent increases is a key tool to help stabilize California’s devastating housing affordability crisis. The real estate industry and the No on Prop 21 campaign don’t want Californians to know about these findings.

In their reports, leading housing, urban planning, and economic experts studied the immediate need and value of implementing rent limits. The independent analyses found that sensible limits on the amount a landlord can raise the rent will bring urgent relief to millions of Californians who are struggling to pay outsized rents and make ends meet.

That relief will come with the passage of Proposition 21.

Prop 21, the November ballot measure, puts limits on excessive rent increases — and helps middle- and working-class renters. It’s why Prop 21 has earned the support of trusted civic leaders and organizations, such as labor and civil rights icon Dolores Huerta, former United Nations special rapporteur on the Right to Housing Leilani Farha, SEIU California, Social Security Works, and numerous others.

In University of Southern California’s Rent Matters report, esteemed professor and co-author Manuel Pastor wrote: “The housing crisis requires a range of strategies, [and] moderate rent regulation is a useful tool to be nested in broader strategy. It has fewer damaging effects than are often imagined, it can address economic pain, and it can promote housing stability. And housing stability matters because it is associated with physical, social, and psychological well-being; higher educational achievement by the young; and benefits for people of color.”

The USC study found that rent limits do not increase the rent of non-regulated units, do not impact the construction of new housing, and help keep rents more affordable for all.

A research brief published by the Haas Institute at UC Berkeley also found that rent limits are critically important for stabilizing California’s housing affordability crisis. Dr. Stephen Barton, a former housing director for the City of Berkeley and co-author of the brief, noted: “When the housing market is as dysfunctional as it is in many parts of California, tenants are effectively subsidizing landlords with rent payments above what a fully competitive market would allow landlords to charge.”

The Luskin Center at UCLA also studied the history of rent control in Los Angeles, diving into the connection between the city’s current housing affordability crisis and unprecedented homelessness. Drawing on history, the report compares today’s housing affordability crisis to the rent increases of the 1970s, noting that people had “something to fall back on — job skills, small savings, or investments.”

Today, wages are not keeping pace with rent increases, and the hardest hit are low-income renters who have no safety net and often end up on the streets. As a result, the report states, “This is an emergency that threatens the stability of our economy and our community. As this paper has demonstrated, government has not hesitated to use its powers to address housing emergencies in the past.”

The UCLA report concludes that California must “[take] action to ensure the availability and affordability of rental housing for all income levels… and [allow] local governments to reassert themselves in stabilizing rents.” That includes utilizing rent limits.

Further, UC Berkeley’s Urban Displacement Project notes that extreme rent hikes continually pose a serious threat of eviction and displacement to Bay Area residents.

Contrary to claims by the real estate industry and the No on 21 campaign, the experts find that rent limits would help bring needed relief to millions of people: seniors, families, recent college graduates, teachers, among many others.

Constant, excessive rent increases are not sustainable as middle- and working-class Californians are already rent-burdened, with many paying over half of their monthly income on housing costs alone. This is especially true as renters struggle through the financial crisis caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Reining in unfair, exorbitant rent increases will boost local economies, cut down on traffic congestion due to long commutes, reduce car emissions, create stable housing for seniors and families, and, ultimately, make our communities more viable where all can thrive.

Patrick Range McDonald, the author of this article, is an award-winning reporter and advocacy journalist for Housing Is A Human Right.