支柱21失败后仍然易受伤害的脆弱者呢?

卡伦·奥卡姆(Karen Ocamb) 新闻资讯

美国民主制度的生存使持续不断的 COVID-19大流行 在2020年大选前后的数周内,加州的野火成为人们上瘾的焦点。 争夺当地电波和选票的斗争主要取决于谁主导了电波广播,这通常意味着,多数加利福尼亚人的选举都是由钱最多的人赢得的。 这就是《 21号提案》(《租金负担能力法案》)所发生的事情,该提案遭到选民的反对,他们被跨多个媒体平台的亿万富翁购买的谎言所迷惑。

但是,大房地产公司(Big Real Estate)的胜利并不能消除灾难性冠状病毒持续恶化的事实, 练习 洛杉矶时报 报道 截至958,214月17,871日,已有6例确诊病例和21例死亡,而最脆弱的人群在XNUMX月底仍面临驱逐和无家可归的情况,而《 XNUMX号提案》本来可以缓解的。  

提案21是全州范围内的投票措施 这限制了不公平的,高昂的租金上涨,限制了公司房东的贪婪,并且可以防止无家可归。 的顶级专家 南加州大学,加州大学洛杉矶分校和加州大学伯克利分校同意合理的租金限制 是稳定加州住房负担能力危机的关键。 这就是为什么销售代表Maxine Waters,Karen Bass和Barbara Lee 加州民主党,美国公民自由协会,加州护士协会, 加州退休美国人联盟,《黑色生活》, 练习 洛杉矶时报, 的网络 大量的LGBTQ组织和个人 -包括洛杉矶市议会议员Mike Bonin和洛杉矶联合学校董事会成员Jackie Goldberg-在提案21之后全力支持。

支柱21的支持者克里斯·戈林(Chris Goring)曾是陆军中尉,现在是帕萨迪纳的骨科医生,他敏锐地意识到住房和医疗保健之间的不平等关系。  

“在这段COVID期间,我有多个患者说过:'已被告知我可能会失去我的公寓。 我没有工作,因为我们无法回到我所在的特定行业工作。” 如果房东有债权人,他们不会想,“嘿,让我给你多一点时间。” 我发现正在遇到这种情况的患者,” 戈林说.

“如果您处在收入有限的生活中,而且勉强能维持生计,那么有人会说'好吧,我对您增加租金的能力没有限制,这有点不合理。我这样做是因为我这样做是合法的。” 我认为那里有些不人道的思考过程,”戈林说。 “您必须能够在对待事物的方式上有一些人道的行为。 金钱不应该永远是赢得胜利的东西。”

但是,金钱往往会赢。 布里萨·托斯卡诺(Brisa Toscano)的丈夫在圣地亚哥现役军人,她支持Prop 21,因为她怀孕,患有哮喘并且被发霉的军人住房所困,那里住着棕色蜘蛛,因为它们无法负担其他任何地方的生活。

托斯卡诺(Toscano)和她的丈夫依靠军事租金津贴,由于缺乏当地住房负担能力,他们被迫使用私人房地产和开发集团提供的住房- 林肯军事房屋,这是由军方“认证”的。

“我们有霉菌问题。 就像,您走进去,他们告诉您地毯是全新的。 但这不是全新的,” 托斯卡诺说.

“还有我患有哮喘的人-我不应该拥有地毯,因为所有的灰尘和像地毯一样的东西都会散落。 我们问军人住房是否可以将其拆除,他们告诉我们,“哦,是的,我们可以将其拆除-如果您支付了我们1,000美元。””她补充说,“如果滑动门有划痕,他们会收费你为整个门。 大概是800美元。”

投诉带来了公众报复,冷落了其他人的投诉。 “很多人一直在抱怨,但是他们什么也没做。 实际上,有一个人去听新闻并对此事进行了抗议。”托斯卡诺说,暗示林肯军事房屋遭到了报复。 “他们要求他们离开。 他们给了他们30天的通知,让他们离开房屋。”

托斯卡诺的丈夫有望很快被派往国外,但由于她的健康问题,军方不会让她陪伴他。 因此,托斯卡诺没有找到像道具21那样可能提供的新的安全,负担得起的房屋,而是面对一个严寒的冬天,一个新生儿在一个小小的发霉的两居室房子里住着,这个房子有棕色蜘蛛。

LGBTQ社区中的许多人,尤其是跨性别人士,在即将到来的驱逐海啸中也面临着字面上的生存威胁。

“几年前, 威廉姆斯研究所发布报告说,大约有218,400个已被识别的 美国1,397,150名自我识别的跨性别成年人中,“加利福尼亚州的个人”。 “显然,作为所有人,我们需要一个居住的地方。 但是,有很多跨性别者继续因为我们是跨性别而受到歧视。 显然,在尝试进出住房或维护住房时提供某种保护对于改善我们人民的生活质量很重要,” 班比·萨尔塞多说,创始人兼董事 [电子邮件保护] 联盟。

在经济边缘生活的LGBTQ个人数量比众所周知的多。 作为 威廉姆斯研究所于去年四月报道”,“ LGBT人群比非LGBT人群更可能贫穷,成为房客,住房不稳定和无家可归。 此外,LGBT长者比非LGBT长者更有可能独自生活; LGBTQ青年无家可归的人很多,这与家人的拒绝有关。 在住房和无家可归者收容所中,对同性恋,双性恋和变性者成年人的歧视普遍存在。”

跨性别妇女的艾滋病毒感染率也比其他人群最高,许多跨性别者由于长期歧视而失业,无法获得政府救济,因此无法获得失业救济。 Salcedo说。 “因此,需要保护跨性别者不要无家可归,并继续维持其生活场所。 而21号提案就是其中一种证券。”

奥克兰的房客律师菲尔·拉皮尔(Phil Rapier)表示,即将到来的21号提案本应有助于减少的驱逐海啸已经来临。

“我受不了了,” 拉皮尔在解释中说 通过提案21的紧迫性

“在过去的几年中,我收到越来越多来自被驱逐的老年人的电话。 在驱逐案件中为租户辩护25年之后,我到了无法忍受的地步,因为有人叫我像这位将近90岁的女士。她在她的公寓中住了44年。 海外投资者购买了该物业,并立即试图将其驱逐出去。 为什么? 不是因为她不付房租,而是因为他们说她把衣服挂在阳台上,并且因为她正在喂流浪猫。 当然,他们没有说这是因为她的房租比大楼里其他所有人的房租都低600美元。”

双刃剑几乎绝望了。 “我们必须照顾我们的老年人。 其他社会也这样做。”他说。 “并不是说我们做不到。 我们已经受过训练,认为我们无能为力:'这是房地产市场。 就是这样。 不,这不对。 我们可以更改它。”

What About the Vulnerable Still Suffering After Prop 21’s Defeat?

Karen Ocamb News

The survival of American democracy displaced the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and California’s wildfires as the center of addictive attention in the weeks just before and after the 2020 Election. Fights over local races and ballot initiatives were largely left up to whoever dominated the airwaves, which, as usual, meant that many California elections were won by whoever had the most money. That’s what happened to Proposition 21, the Rental Affordability Act, which was rejected by voters confused by the lies bought by billionaires spewed across multiple media platforms.

But victory by Big Real Estate does not erase the fact that the disastrous coronavirus is continuing unabated – the Los Angeles Times reported 958,214 confirmed cases and 17,871 deaths as of Nov. 6 — and the most vulnerable still face eviction and homelessness at the end of January – which Prop 21 could have mitigated.  

Prop 21 was the statewide ballot measure that put limits on unfair, sky-high rent increases, reined in corporate landlord greed, and would have prevented homelessness. Top experts at USC, UCLA, and UC Berkeley agree that sensible rent limits are key for stabilizing California’s housing affordability crisis. That’s why Reps. Maxine Waters, Karen Bass and Barbara Lee, the California Democratic Party, the ACLU, the California Nurses Association, the California Alliance for Retired Americans, Black Lives Matter, the Los Angeles Times, and a slew of LGBTQ organizations and individuals — including LA City Councilmember Mike Bonin and LA Unified School Board member Jackie Goldberg — threw their full support behind Prop 21.

Prop 21 supporter Chris Goring, a former lieutenant colonel in the Army who is now an orthopedic surgeon based in Pasadena, is acutely mindful of the inequity intersection between housing and healthcare.  

“I have had more than one patient who has said during this time of COVID: ‘I have been notified that I will possibly lose my apartment. I don’t have a job because we can’t go back to work in the particular industry that I am in.’ And if the landlord has a creditor, they’re not going to think, ‘Hey, let me give you some extra time.’ And I am finding patients that are running into that,” Goring said.

“If you’re in a setting where you’re living on a limited income and you’re just barely making ends meet, it’s somewhat unconscionable that someone could say, ‘Okay, there is no limit to my ability to increase your rent and I can do it just because it’s legal for me to do it.’ I think there’s a bit of an inhumane thought process there,” Goring said. “You have to be able to have some humane behavior in terms of how you address things. Money should not always be the thing that wins the day.”

But too often, money wins. Brisa Toscano, whose husband is active duty military in San Diego, supported Prop 21 because she is pregnant, asthmatic, and trapped in moldy military housing infested with brown spiders because they can’t afford anywhere else to live.

Toscano and her husband rely on a military rental allowance and, because of a lack of area housing affordability, they have been forced to use housing provided by a private real estate and development group – Lincoln Military Housing, which is “certified” by the military.

“We have mold issues. And like, you just move in and they tell you that the carpet is brand new. But it’s not brand new,” Toscano said.

“And me with my asthma — I shouldn’t have carpet because of all the dust and everything that like the carpet gets. We asked Military Housing if they could remove it and they told us, ‘Oh, yes, we can remove it — if you pay us $1,000.’” And, she added, “If the sliding door has a scratch, they’ll charge you for the whole door. That is like $800.”

Complaints brought public retaliation that chilled complaints by others. “A lot of people have been complaining, but they don’t do anything. In fact, one person went to the news and protested about it,” Toscano said, suggesting Lincoln Military Housing retaliated. “They asked them to leave. They gave them like a 30-day notice to get out of the house.”

Toscano’s husband is expected to be deployed overseas soon, but because of her health issues the military will not let her accompany him. So instead of finding a new safe affordable home that passage of Prop 21 might have provided, Toscano is facing a COVID winter with a newborn in a small moldy two-bedroom house infested with brown spiders.

Also facing a literal existential threat with the coming eviction tsunami are many in the LGBTQ community, especially transgender individuals.

“A few years ago, the Williams Institute put out a report that there are about 218,400 trans-identified individuals in the state of California,” of the 1,397,150 self-identified trans adults in America. “Obviously we, as all people, need to have a place to live. But there are many trans people who continue to be discriminated against simply because we are trans. Obviously, having some type of protection while trying to access housing or trying to maintain their housing is important to better the quality of life for our people,” said Bamby Salcedo, founder and director of the [email protected] Coalition.

More LGBTQ individuals live on the economic edge than is generally known. As the Williams Institute reported last April, “LGBT people are more likely than non-LGBT people to be poor, to be renters, to have unstable housing, and to be homeless. Furthermore, LGBT elders are more likely to live alone than non-LGBT elders; LGBTQ youth have high rates of homelessness related, for many, to rejection from their families; and discrimination against LGBT adults in housing and homeless shelters is widespread.”

Trans women also have the highest incidence of HIV infections than any other population and many trans people were not able to receive government relief because they were unemployed as a result of persistent discrimination and could not receive unemployment benefits. And those who were employed lost their jobs,” said Salcedo. “So there needs to be protections for trans people to not be homeless and to continue to maintain their places of living. And Prop 21 is one of those securities.”

That coming eviction tsunami that Prop 21 would have helped curtail is already here, according to Phil Rapier, a tenants attorney in Oakland.

“I can’t take it anymore,” Rapier said in explaining the urgency of passing Prop 21.

“In the last few years, I’ve had more and more calls from seniors who are being evicted. After 25 years of defending tenants in eviction cases, I’ve just gotten to the point where I can’t stand it because I have people calling me like the lady who was almost 90. She lived in her apartment for 44 years. Overseas investors bought the property and immediately tried to evict her. Why? Not because she didn’t pay her rent, but because they said she was hanging her laundry on the balcony and because she was feeding stray cats. Of course, they didn’t say it’s because her rent was $600 lower than everybody else’s in the building.”

Rapier is near despair. “We have to take care of our seniors. Other societies do,” he said. “It’s not that we can’t do it. We’ve been trained to think there’s nothing we can do: ‘It’s the real estate market. It’s the way it is.’ No, it’s not. We can change it.”